Friends, Food and Fun – Stone Fruit Tea Cake

3 Aug

When you move to a new country, the biggest challenge that anybody would face is to build a circle of friends. I found this the most difficult part of settling in a new place. Since the time I remember, I always had a huge group of friends that I could count on. I was always the ” Socializer” like many of my friends called me. I had lots of BFFs (Best friend’s forever). Getting married, didn’t change me in many ways, as being a mother did. Suddenly, the focus of my world became my daughter. Slowly interactions with friends were reduced due the paucity of time. Then country-hopping did not do any favours either.

Today, I have amazing friends on Facebook and twitter, but I still find something amiss in my life. Also the craving to go out and make friends has disappeared too. Too much has changed, too soon. Probably it is an age thing or just a phase in life where I am little cautious before I expose myself emotionally to someone and make friendships. Now I realize the only ones that I can call my BFFs are the ones from school and college. Post that, friendships that I had made have evaporated. They did not stand the test of time. This phase has truly been a revelation where the wheat has been separated from the chaff.

So coming back to friendships in a new place-Friendship is precious to me-  It took me more than a year and a matter of pure chance to be able to meet with some people, whom I can call my friends, here in Bahrain. The very first friend, I met was Namit ( who happens to be my junior from my MBA school); then I met Gayathri ( we have common friends); then Hasina ( whom I met through my blog) and Anamika ( whom I met through her food blog). I meet up with these wonderful people from time to time. That time I must say, laced with good conversations and fabulous food has made wonderful memories.

I do not know what future looks like, in the sense that I might go country hopping again. The thought distresses me slightly even as I write about it. But what I have made sure is, I took a lot of time to build these friendships, so I am going to make the most by spending  quality time with them. Most of my posts about food invariably would have atleast one of them featuring in them. It is cooking/baking for them and my family which makes it worth the while.

So this post is about a certain stone fruit tea cake that I made for one such wonderful afternoon spent with friends- Hasina and Anamika. Both of these young ladies are new mums and fabulous bloggers in their own right. That we all stay at stone’s throw from each other has helped us stay in touch. We met up one lazy afternoon and caught up with the latest in our lives. It is always so good to talk to friends, there is no parallel really. The best part being, we all have children who are so close in age to each other that we can relate to each other’s situation easily.

Now for the recipe, I have been an avid follower of Deeba Rajpal’s blog. I find it fascinating the way she uses fruits in her baking and not to mention her gorgeous photography. One such post on stone fruits in baking caught my eye and I knew I had to try it. The occasion was perfect since it was a tea cake and I was going for a round of tea at Hasina’s place. This recipe is a keeper, in my opinion because the cake by itself is a wonderful one and paired with fruits, it is racing to perfection.  I used stone fruits like cherry, nectarines, peaches and apricots. I am sure plums would be great too. I made some mistakes on the way, which made the whole cake assembly a bit difficult to lift and put on a plate. But I am sure if you follow the recipe to the tee, it would as perfect as you  see on Deeba’s blog.

Recipe for Stone Fruit Tea Cake

from Passionab0utabaking

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp butter (for greasing pan)
  • 1/2 cup almond meal
  • 1 cup plain flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • 110gms unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 125gm sugar powdered
  • 2 eggs
  • Light muscovado sugar for sprinkling over
  • apricots, peaches, cherries, nectarines

Preparation:

  1. Preheat the oven to 170C. Grease a round tart tin with the tbsp of butter.
  2. Run the almond meal, flour, baking powder and salt briefly in a blender to mix
  3. Cream the butter and sugar for 3-4 minutes until light. Add the eggs and beat again.
  4. On low speed, add the flour mix in 3 goes and blend until just mixed. The dough will be soft. You can divide this into 2 and chill one half. Push the other half to line the base of your tart pan/ baking tin
  5. Pit and chop the stone fruit, and scatter evenly over the base lined with dough. Sprinkle generously with sugar if your fruit are sour.
  6. Dollop and roughly spread the remaining dough over the top, spreading roughly with an offset spatula. The dough will even out while baking, leaving pretty gaps for the fruit to peep out. Sprinkle over with muscovado sugar.
  7. Bake at 170C for about 30 minutes. The top will feel firm and set. Allow to cool for at least 30 minutes before removing from pan.

We, had a good time digging into this tea cake, some delicious cupcakes by Hasina, rounds of tea and juices. Looking forward to many such afternoons of friends, food and fun.

28 Responses to “Friends, Food and Fun – Stone Fruit Tea Cake”

  1. Vinaykrishnan Vishwanath Menon August 3, 2011 at 10:26 am #

    Anumita looks amazing! And yeah, friends are always ALWAYS good to have around you. 🙂 🙂

  2. Meghna August 3, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    Hi Anita, I kind of agree with you. The BFFs we’ve had are mostly from school and college (well for most of us). They’ve stood the test of time. Even now, I meet up a lot people, have a good amount of small talk with them, but its just not the same. I have somehow lost the inclination to meet up with new people and put in a whole of energy and effort and trust in the relationship…sigh!!!! hmmm thats true!!!!

    Will definitely try your cake receipe… whenever I find the will and the inclination to do so.. may be the long weekend around 15th August…..:-)

    • Anita Menon August 3, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

      I find it so strange that it is the same story with everyone!

  3. Bikram August 3, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    You are so right, and i know what you mean when you say its the hardest thing when one moves to a different country .. making friends , I still find it so difficult and I dont have very many friends here in uk just 2 -3. but back home WOW.. we had a full gang and I know people say you cnat be best friends with all but beleive me we were , about 20 of us and all together sicne we started together in school and went on to colelge and then Uni..
    And yes i have made a lot of friends over blog and Fb and I am blessed i have met such lovely people ..

    True the BFF are from school and college and I oooh am so proud of them …

    and FOOOOOOOOOOOD now that is a evergreen BFF i have he he he he I love the cake and the little one seems in full concentration trying ot get that foood there …

    • Anita Menon August 3, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

      I can imagine you must be missing all your friends so much BIkram.

  4. Namit Bhatia August 3, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    Oh you guys, don’t just go by the photos… this tasted amazingly good too. And I had the privilege of polishing off nearly half the cake in no time… burrrp!

    • Anita Menon August 3, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

      You have already been given the title of the official taster.., Namit

  5. Anamika August 3, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    I was lucky to taste it & its quite yum…In fact was thinking of making it too!! So nice you hyperlinked to blogs of Hasina & Gaythri too. Good to know them as well..and lets do more such get together!!

  6. Deeba Rajpal (@vindee) August 3, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    What a wonderful post Anita…dazzling {teehee} if I may say so! Thank you for the shout out, thanks for being the inspiration behind my cake that day {and photographs too} … and for baking the cake! Glad you enjoyed it … TC

  7. Gayathri August 3, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    Lovely pix and the cake looks yummm…Agree with you totally , when you say Friendships are precious!!!! And a big thanks to Ankur for having introducing us to each other!!!!

  8. Ankur August 3, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

    I m waiting for our food & fun meeting… Having reading & seeing ur yum preparations.. I keep waiting when would my turn come 🙂 … & I m glad you & Gayatri were able to click it off… both of U r amazing & I m glad to have u guys in my life….

    Love U loads… mmmmuaaahhh & still waiting for my time 🙂

    Ankur

  9. Ameena August 4, 2011 at 6:29 am #

    all i can say is thank goodness for the internet…i have met so many people in real-life after “meeting” them through my blog and i can’t imagine how friend-less i would be if this weren’t the case.

    so glad that you have people you can call friends in your new home! and when i get out to your neck of the woods (i hope to one day) i would love to meet in person!

    great recipe…any recipe with the words tea and cake is right up my alley.

    • Anita Menon August 4, 2011 at 11:38 am #

      Me too Ameena! I hope we do one day.

      Also, I see that your shift key isn’t working yet.

      Thanks for dropping by.

  10. saffronstreaks August 4, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    friendship, socializing and blogging…u are so right about it and yes country hopping is a big spoiler…btw the fruit cake really looks good and its nice to meet other foodies too.

  11. I Live in a Frying Pan August 4, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    That tea cake looks delicious, I love fruity cakes, especially with that crusty sugar topping you have going on in the photos! Did you submit this for the stonefruit monthly mingle? That’s another great way to meet fellow bloggers! (http://sipsandspoonfuls.com/2011/08/monthly-mingle-round-up-and-ramadhan.html)

    Moving countries and making friends is always hard. But what I’ve learned is that taking a few well-informed risks, reaching out to people you don’t know, and getting them together over a dinner table can lead to some lovely friendships…plus who wouldn’t want to befriend someone who can bake a fabulous stonefruit cake? 😉 I’ve built friendships by reaching out to fellow bloggers in the city, which is easier to do than just reaching out to random people. Maybe one day I’ll figure out how to do that even with foodies who aren’t bloggers in the city…I just find it super easy to connect when someone is as madly in love with food as I am. Honestly, it’s crazy how food can connect two strangers who’d never met before until they sat down at a dinner table. 🙂

  12. kankana August 5, 2011 at 12:20 am #

    I am just a tad bit J out here. I moved to US last year sep and became a house wife. It’s going to be a year but i hardly could make any friends and I could relate to you a lot. My friends are the only ones I miss out here ! This cake looks delicious and Deeba is a genius :).

  13. yummychunklet August 5, 2011 at 4:47 am #

    This cake looks great! And, what a cute photo of your daughter!

  14. ThirtySumting August 5, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    We did have a lovely afternoon together and I look forward to many more. The cake was delicious! I agree with you about friendships being so precious. We are all in the same boat as expats in a foreign country, new mums and new to staying at home. The best we can do is support one another through it all. Hope our friendship will be one of the long lasting ones.

  15. brandi@BranAppetit August 5, 2011 at 6:29 pm #

    that sounds delicious!

  16. Christina August 6, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

    Yummy! I am loving this tea cake! Looks delicious! 🙂

  17. Maria Jose August 10, 2011 at 8:35 am #

    Hi Anita,

    First time here… You have a lovely space! Btw, I’m also from Bahrain.

    Best wishes for your blog!

    Cheers
    Maria

    • Anita Menon August 10, 2011 at 8:50 am #

      Thank you , Maria for dropping by. I do know that you are from Bahrain. I have come by your blog many times to check out the authentic kerala cuisine in your archives.

      • Maria Jose August 10, 2011 at 9:47 am #

        ohhk, thank you 🙂 Can you please send me your email id to mjm@jpm.cc?

  18. Shreeja N August 10, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

    Hi Anita,

    Have never been as good as my mom at baking. Recently after several attempts, there has been an improvement though, esp. since my 5 yr old son says so 😉 Liked this recipe and am going to try it out today evening.

    Luvd your style of blogging.Keep it coming.

    TC;)

    • Anita Menon August 10, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

      Thanks Shreeja.. thank you for dropping by.

Leave a comment