Muffin Mondays: Zucchini & Sesame Seeds Muffins

3 Oct

I feel so delighted to be baking with a bunch of wonderful Monday – Muffin bakers week after week. I was sorry about not being able to bake last Monday, but this Monday, I am here with some lovely Savoury Muffins. If it were not for this group and An’s attempts, I would have never tried this savoury version. Since An always lets us on a base recipe and asks us to interpret it the way we want to, it makes it incredibly exciting to try different flavour combinations.

This week, she invited us to bake Zucchini & Sesame seeds muffins. Sounds very interesting, right? Well it was since it called for herbs of our choice and I added some fresh, chopped parsley, dried rosemary and dried sage. I couldn’t resist adding a little cheddar since it is my go-to for anything with zucchini; savoury ofcourse.

I halved the recipe, so I got 6 muffins and fresh from the oven, they were simply yummy. The topping of browned cheddar and black sesame seeds gave it just the right amount of crackle. I am giving out the quantities, as in the original recipe provided by An with little notes of modifications that I made, on the side.

Recipe for Zucchini & Sesame seeds Muffins

Gives 12 muffins

Ingredients:

2 medium zucchini (roughly 300grams)

2 cups all purpose flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/8 tsp salt

freshly ground pepper

2 tablespoon sesame seeds (Plus extra for sprinkling on top) I used black & white sesame seeds.

1/2 teaspoon dried mixed herbs ( I increased the quantity of herbs from 1/2 tsp to 3 tbsp of fresh parsley, dried rosemary & dried sage)

2 large eggs

1 cup buttermilk

6 tablespoons sunflower oil or melted butter

3-5 tbsp of cheddar ( optional) and some for topping

 Instructions:

1. Preheat the oven to 400F / 200C

2. Grease a 12 cup muffin pan or line it with paper liners

3. Grate zucchini and squeeze out any excess moisture.

4. Lightly beat the eggs in another bowl. Beat in the buttermilk and oil.

5. In a large bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, salt and pepper. Stir in the mixed herbs and half the sesame seeds.

6. Make a well in the centre and add in the liquid ingredients. Stir gently until just combined.

7. Spoon the batter into prepared muffin pan and scatter the sesame seeds to top.

8. Bake for about 20 minutes

9. Let the muffins cool in the pan and then serve warm.

I enjoyed my muffins with a bit of tomato ketchup.( I know, it’s shame but couldn’t help the temptation)

My family, is still of the traditionalist thinking and weren’t too excited about the savoury version of their breakfast muffins. In a way, it is a good thing because, I get to eat all the muffins everyday; as I like and when I like.

So happy Monday to you all!

Muffin Monday is an initiative by Baker Street. A culinary journey of sharing a wickedly delicious muffin recipe every week. Drop in a quick line to join her on her journey to make the world smile and beat glum Monday mornings week after week

25 Responses to “Muffin Mondays: Zucchini & Sesame Seeds Muffins”

  1. Meghna October 3, 2011 at 8:22 am #

    these look delicious!!!! Yummm….I stocked up too for my cooking experiments!!! wil take your inputs on that!!!!

  2. Buls October 3, 2011 at 8:31 am #

    Wow… need to try atleast one savoury recipe

  3. yummychunklet October 3, 2011 at 8:32 am #

    Fun! Love the sesame seed specks!

  4. La @ FoodSlice October 3, 2011 at 8:32 am #

    The cheddar and black sesame seeds on top give these muffins a “pick-me-up-now” finish. I ‘d definitely pick one up if i was in their vicinity 🙂

  5. Sally October 3, 2011 at 8:54 am #

    Love the black sesame seeds – I was looking for poppy seeds but couldn’t find them. Should have thought laterally. Lovely muffins – really like the addition of fresh herbs.

  6. Baker Street October 3, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    Zucchini and cheddar is a great combination! I’m sure they tasted great! And happy to have you back and baking with us this week, Anita! 🙂

  7. mytwistedrecipe October 3, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    your muffins look amazing!

    i should have added some cheese just like you did, you rock!

    happy to be baking with you, anita! 🙂

  8. Bikram October 3, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

    I love muffins and this will make 12 wowo 🙂 I like that more he he he he

  9. elena @3greenonions October 3, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    I know what you mean by the family’s thoughts about savory muffins. its the same around here:) but, more for me, right:)? great to see someone else thought of cheese too, I’m not the only one with an addiction:)

  10. Tori @eat-tori October 3, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    These look just gorgeous (though I might be tempted to sneak a little feta cheese in there)- there’s no such thing as too much cheese stuffed in a muffin to me 🙂

  11. Stay-At-Home-Chef October 3, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    Good to have you back baking with us! Your muffins look fantastic…love how they pop with the black sesame seeds.

  12. Kate October 3, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    Wow! Your muffins are absolutely GORGEOUS!! They look so delicious!

  13. Bianca @ South Bay Rants n Raves October 3, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    Well they always say everything tastes better with cheddar! Heck these practically look like dinner rolls. Maybe if I sell it to my husband that way, he’ll actually eat it!

  14. Carrie @ poet in the pantry October 3, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    There ya go! Cheddar was the key! 😉 They look really good!

  15. Marie October 3, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

    Those are so interesting and unique, they could be a side dish and bread in one. I want to try them tonight!

  16. Anamika October 3, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

    These look awesome & I love savory stuff so I know I got to make this. After all too many good things in one..got to be good!!

  17. Aimee White (@Food_Je_tAimee) October 4, 2011 at 12:22 am #

    Your muffins are beautiful! I love the contrast of colours. Great choice of herbs and I love that you put cheddar in these! YUM!

  18. I Live in a Frying Pan October 4, 2011 at 6:24 am #

    whoa! those look like killer creative muffins! i’ve never seen anything like it…lady, you need me in your neighborhood to help you eat through a batch of these if the family is not gobbling them down. I know I’d do justice! 🙂

  19. carolineadobo October 4, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    Yeah you used black sesame seeds, too! (Though I went a little crazy and added loads of it LOL) And I should’ve added cheese on mine, love the extra color it gave. They probably tasted even better with it. Next time.

  20. khushi October 4, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    lovely muffins….a touch of sesame is a gr8 thing about it….do check out the ongoing events and participate
    Event :My Diwali My Way
    Event: Kerala Kitchen
    Roundup: What’s on your kebab platter

  21. thecoffeesnob October 4, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    Oh wow, I don’t think I’ve ever had a savoury muffin other than the usual bacon and chives but this sounds really intriguing. By the way, all that veggie goodness means I can eat as many as I want right? 😉

  22. Yuri October 4, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    Lovely! I used some cheese as well, really digging these muffins baked with black sesame seeds 🙂

  23. Ameena October 6, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    I love savory muffins and these are no exception. I think I am going to print this out and keep it for the next time I have a muffin craving! Great recipe!

  24. Cassandra @aperfectpantry October 7, 2011 at 8:20 am #

    Yuuuumm! Love a good savoury muffin. I made corn muffins with coriander pesto the other day!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mini Zucchini Bites (Cuadritos de Calabacin) | Ecualombian - October 17, 2011

    […] Muffin Mondays: Zucchini & Sesame Seeds Muffins (sliceofmylyfe.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a comment