Muffin Monday : Olive Oil Muffins with Toasted Almonds and Chocolate

10 Oct

What do you think of  when you read Chocolate chunks +Toasted Almonds+Orange zest + Brown sugar?

Food has the power to capture our imagination.

It  transcends us through the Space – Time continuum ( I am watching a lot of Star Trek!) and bring to us memories from the past.  It transports us to the good time shared with people we love (or loved). But at times it is potent enough to make us see sights of places that we may not have been to. Olive Oil Muffins, this Monday did just that.

Early morning baking has it’s advantages. With my daughter still sleeping and my hubby already on his way to work, leaves me all the time, to create, innovate, adapt, photograph,  think,  write and most importantly bake without any disturbances. Sip-fulls of coffee in my system and playing with beautiful ingredients such as olive oil, orange zest, chocolate, toasted almonds can warm up the imagination. I could see pristine blue beaches of the Mediterranean, stocky white buildings, seagulls, the sun, the sand and bare feet. These homely and unpretentious muffins can do this to you.

This Monday, Anuradha of BakerStreet called us to bake together these fabulous muffins and dare I say, it cannot get better than this. It got an overwhelming thumbs up from family too.  I know in my heart that I haven’t seen the last of these gorgeous muffins because they were  good to the last crumb.

The Recipe for Olive Oil Muffins with Toasted Almonds and Chocolate

Ingredients

1 and 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup sugar ( I used 1/4 cup of sugar and 3/4 cup of muscovado sugar)

4 large eggs

2 teaspoons orange zest

2 teaspoons lemon zest ( I didn’t add any)

2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

2 tablespoons whole milk

3/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil

2/3 cup sliced almonds, toasted

1/2 cup of chocolate, chopping coarsely ( my addition)

Powdered sugar, for sifting ( forgot to do this)

Preparation

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

2. Place paper liners in a 12-cup muffin tin.

3. In a medium bowl, blend together the flour, baking powder, and salt.

4. Using an electric mixer beat the sugar, eggs, and zest in a large bowl until pale and fluffy, about 3 minutes.

5. Beat in the vinegar and milk. Gradually beat in the oil.

6. Add the flour mixture and stir just until blended. ( used a spatula to mix manually until just blended)

7. Crush the almonds with your hands as you add them to the batter and stir until mixed ( added chopped chocolate at this point)

8. Fill the muffin tin almost to the top of the paper liners.( crucial for lovely  dome shaped tops)

9. Bake until golden on top and a tester inserted into the center of the cake comes out with moist crumbs attached, about 20 to 25 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack and cool for 10 minutes.

10. Remove the muffins onto a platter and let cool for 5 more minutes. Sift powdered sugar over the muffins and serve

Muffin Monday is an initiative by Baker Street. A culinary journey of sharing a wickedly delicious muffin recipe every week. Drop in a quick line to join her on her journey to make the world smile and beat glum Monday mornings week after week.

33 Responses to “Muffin Monday : Olive Oil Muffins with Toasted Almonds and Chocolate”

  1. Namit October 10, 2011 at 7:57 am #

    Yummeh! Not only they look pretty, but taste wise are a total WIN too!

  2. Baker Street October 10, 2011 at 7:58 am #

    Ooh! Chocolate. I like! Your muffins look lovely Anita! xx

  3. Kate @KDBabbles October 10, 2011 at 8:15 am #

    Love your version of this week’s muffins! Yum!! Also what gorgeous pictures

  4. Yasmeen @ Wandering Spice October 10, 2011 at 8:32 am #

    Yum! I love baking with olive oil, and you’ve combined it almonds and chocolate, two of my all time favorites.

  5. Plateful October 10, 2011 at 8:41 am #

    Totally indulgent flavors, Anita! Home-baked goodies have more charm than store brought ones, especially when they come loaded with promise like this one. I’m floored!

  6. La @ FoodSlice October 10, 2011 at 8:42 am #

    Mediterranean pristine beaches, sun, sand.. ooh i ‘d like some of those muffins.. the only thing stopping me is no muffin moulds.. do u think they ‘d do well as a cake?

    • Anita Menon October 10, 2011 at 8:49 am #

      olive oil cake is just as good, but for that I would look to the internet for a good recipe. I am not sure you can swap recipes like that. Baking time also differs

  7. Raji October 10, 2011 at 9:41 am #

    The muffins look superb..delicious combination of chocolates with almonds…cant take my eyes off them.

  8. Gayathri October 10, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    I wish I could just take them off the monitor and devour them…!!!

  9. elena @3greenonions October 10, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

    Lovely photos Anita:) Glad to see I wasn’t the only one who thought of chocolate! These were great!

  10. Bikram October 10, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    ooh chocolateeee 🙂 it looks yummmy i am already droooling 🙂

  11. mindyourbeesandtreesn October 10, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    Love the addition of chocolate. I love chocolate and can’t believe I didn’t think of that. These were definitely a winner in my book too and I’m sure they are even better with chocolate!

  12. khushi October 10, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

    lovely recipe…hey why dont you send your entries to my events:
    Event: Kerala Kitchen
    Event :My Diwali My Way
    Roundup: What’s on your kebab platter

  13. a spoonful of yumm October 10, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    YUMM !! 😀

  14. Bianca @ South Bay Rants n Raves October 10, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    I agree, we totally have a winner with these muffins! We haven’t seen the last of them either! Also you’re right, you can really see the Italian landscape as you make these!

  15. yummychunklet October 10, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    I’ve always wanted to try olive oil muffins. Yours look delicious!

  16. Barbie October 10, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    Chocolate!!! Olive oil and chocolate… Interesting 🙂

    I bet they taste awesome 🙂

  17. Elizabeth @Mango_Queen October 11, 2011 at 3:41 am #

    Oh my goodness, you put chocolates in these muffins? Whoa, awesome! Love the recipe. Thanks for sharing!

  18. Stay-At-Home-Chef October 11, 2011 at 7:00 am #

    The combination of olive oil, orange zest, chocolate, toasted almonds must have been heavenly! Mmmm…I can almost taste it 🙂 Happy Muffin Monday!

  19. Marie October 11, 2011 at 7:27 am #

    These look right up my alley, and with balsamic? I am so curious to taste them. Gorgeous pics as usual.

  20. monikamanchanda October 11, 2011 at 9:17 am #

    those look yummm

  21. thecoffeesnob October 11, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    What do I think of when I read chocolate chunks, toasted almonds, orange zest and brown sugar?

    Gimme gimme gimme! 😆

    I’ve never baked with olive oil but these sound like they would be so damned delicious!

  22. Carrie @ poet in the pantry October 11, 2011 at 5:16 pm #

    Those are some gorgeous muffins! There is something magical about getting up early and baking before everyone rises.

  23. Cassandra @foodmyfriend October 12, 2011 at 4:05 am #

    I’m such a sucker for a muffin made with ‘good fats’. Yum! They look like they would be quite filling?

  24. Sylvie @ Gourmande in the Kitchen October 12, 2011 at 6:31 am #

    Wonderful flavor combination, I like the olive oil with the orange and chocolate.

  25. Gayathri October 12, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

    Thanks a ton Anu for saving these beauties for me…They were yummmmmmmmmmmm..

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Choc Tactics – Chocolate Recipes to Scare your Body into Submission | Best Vegan Recipies - October 11, 2011

    […] Zucchini MuffinsChocolate Week 2011 – Heavenly recipesGhirardelli Intense Dark Toffee InterludeMuffin Monday : Olive Oil Muffins with Toasted Almonds and Chocolate var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-10699154-37']); […]

  2. Healthy Muffins for Breakfast (Eggless) « Food and Fiction - November 16, 2011

    […] flash of inspiration. This is one such recipe. The first time I had muffins was when Anita shared these with me. I fell in love with muffins. Later I had the perfect occasion to make them when we went […]

Leave a comment