Hot Cross Buns – Fresh From the Oven Challenge – April

13 Apr

For this month’s Fresh from the Oven Challenge, we have Hot Cross Buns for a good reason. Easter and Hot Cross Buns are synonymous and I had been meaning to make these for as long as I remember. Little Loaf challenged us to make these and I jumped at the chance. I had another reason to make these; I had to salvage my image as a good baker at my workplace where I had managed to commit a severe faux pas. You could read about it here.

The Hot cross buns though wonderful to taste, didn’t look very uniform in shape despite my best efforts. By the time I got to my third batch, I even burnt some. In my oven, I can bake only nine pieces at one go. To have a uniform golden colour, I had to light ( yes I have a gas oven) the top burner for the last few minutes of the bake time.

Just before they went into the oven

I used a recipe from the latest issue of the BBC GoodFood Magazine. Little Loaf’s recipe seemed just as good, but it would have required me to take a print or write the recipe down, so I preferred what I had on hand – the recipe from the Magazine. There was a method nicely described to get all your crosses perfectly but I had little patience and not the best piping bag to help me. But these are cute, methinks.

Fresh from the Oven and with jam glaze

Recipe for Hot Cross Buns

Paul Hollywood’s Hot Cross Buns with jam glaze.

Makes 15

Ingredients

For the buns

Milk – 300 ml full fat plus 2 tbsp more

Butter – 50 gm

Strong Bread flour – 500 gm

salt – 1 tsp

caster sugar – 75 gm

Sunflower oil – 1 tbsp

Instant yeast – 7 gm

egg – 1, beaten

Mixed dried fruit peel, raisins, dried apricots – 125 gm

Ground cinnamon – 1 tsp

Ground nutmeg – 1 tsp

zest of 1 orange

For the cross

Plain flour + extra for dusting – 75 gm

For the glaze

3 tbsp of jam of your choice – I had plum and fig on me. So I used that.

Preparation

1. Bring the milk to boil, then remove from the heat and add butter. Leave to cool until it reaches hand temperature. It shouldn’t cool down entirely.

2. Put the flour, salt, sugar and yeast into a bowl. Make a well in the center. Pour in the warm milk and butter mixture, the add the egg. Using a wooden spoon mix well and then bring everything together with your hands until you have a stick dough. Mine was too sticky. I had to add plenty of extra flour to make it manageable. So be a little conservative as you add the milk into the flour and add as required.

3. Tip on the lightly floured surface and knead by holding the dough with one hand and stretching it with the heel of the other hand, then folding it back on itself. Repeat for 5 minutes until smooth and elastic. Put the dough in a lightly oiled bowl. Cover with oiled cling film and leave to rise in a warm place for 1 hour or until it has doubled in size and a finger pressed into it leaves a dent.

4. With the dough still in the bowl, tip all the fruit peel, orange zest, and anything that you want to add along with the spices. Knead all this into the dough and make sure everything is evenly distributed. Leave it to rise for 1 hour more, or until doubled in size again, covered by some well oiled cling film to stop the dough getting a crust.

5. Divide the dough into 15 even pieces ( about 75 gm per piece). Roll each piece into a smooth ball on a lightly floured work surface. Arrange the buns on one or two baking trays lined with parchment, leaving enough space for the dough to expand. Cover with a clean tea towel., then set it aside to prove for 1 more hour.

6. Heat oven to 220 C/gas mark 7. Mix the flour with about 5 tbsp of water to make the paste for the cross- add 1 tbsp at a tim, so you add just enough for a thick paste. Spoon into a piping bag with a small nozzle. Pipe a cross along each bun and bake for 20 minutes on middle shelf of the oven until golden brown. If like mine, your oven heats alternately, then after 17 minutes, switch on the top burner and let the top of the buns brown to a golden hue for the last 3 minutes.

7. Gently heat the jam of your choice to melt and get rid of any huge chunks. Using a pastry brush, gently brush over the top of the warm buns while the jam is till warm

It was a wonderful experience and all of these seemingly never ending steps came together quickly.  My colleagues took not one, not two but three servings and kept coming back for more. They may not be the prettiest looking buns and hence they didn’t inspire the photographer in me.

With work and responsibilities at home taking a whole lot of my time, it has become difficult to keep up with blogging and my other favourite blogs. I hope to correct it soon once I find the rhythm back.

Until then, I hope you all had a swell Easter gorging on all the wonderful chocolate laden goodies and some warm, fresh out of the oven – Hot Cross Buns.

16 Responses to “Hot Cross Buns – Fresh From the Oven Challenge – April”

  1. Namitha April 13, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

    Hot cross buns one a penny two a penny..can’t stop singing that whenever I read ‘hot cross buns’ 🙂 They look fine and pretty ! a challenge, well done

  2. pooja April 13, 2012 at 11:30 pm #

    I was lucky to get my hands on those cross buns and I totally loved them!
    Waiting for you to bake the next batch! or any of your other delicious recipes!!!!!

    • Anita Menon April 14, 2012 at 7:22 am #

      sure Pooja, you can rest assured, anything special that I bake or cook, you’ll get some over to sample

  3. delicio8 April 14, 2012 at 2:53 am #

    Nice ones! I love the sticky jam on top! What a compliment that your co-workers ate them all up!

  4. yummychunklet April 14, 2012 at 3:49 am #

    What perfect looking hot cross buns!

  5. Deboshree April 14, 2012 at 9:59 am #

    A few days earlier and this post would have been even more wonderful. Sigh. I didn’t have any buns this Easter as we were out of town. I did have other goodies though. As for the buns, they are awesome enough to suit any occasion. 😀

  6. Buls April 14, 2012 at 1:13 pm #

    I thought your work must be affecting the blogging… Please don’t let it flag

  7. thelittleloaf April 14, 2012 at 2:46 pm #

    Your buns look delicious! Sorry you didn’t have my recipe to hand – should really work out a way for people to print them out easily… 🙂

  8. Deeps @ Naughty Curry April 14, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

    i think they look wonderfully rustic… would totally go for 3 myself lucky colleagues of urs 🙂 orange and nutmeg and cinnamon, must have been amazing

  9. Poornima April 14, 2012 at 5:40 pm #

    I actually love the look of the buns, rustic, which is exactly how all breads should look!

  10. Ameena April 14, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    Surprisingly, I’ve never had hot cross buns before! They look delicious Anita.

    Hope you are having a great weekend so far…

  11. marie April 16, 2012 at 8:01 am #

    I would have done the same thing, hurry and try to salvage my reputation. I used to work at a bakery and the baker made these during Easter. I think they photograph quite well, I like imperfect pictures.

  12. purelyfood May 4, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    Sorry I missed these when they were first posted. I have added you to the round up. These look great, thank you for taking part.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fresh from the oven round up – April, hot cross buns | Purely food - May 4, 2012

    […] Slice of my life […]

Leave a comment