A Birthday Wish for the Special People in my life (with some Carrot Cake)

30 Jul

The longest time off my blog yet and I wasn’t even vacationing or sick! Life’s in a limbo and I feel no immediate need to wake up from my stupor. I have been doing a lot of things in the background inviting people over, baking splendid bakes, preparing a lavish spread of grills and desserts, reading and watching Olympics (off late).

I still feel I am not completely in my element yet, as far as blogging is concerned. But I really wanted to do this post for one of my closest friends and Harry Potter. It is their birthday tomorrow and I had to wish them well with a cake. A carrot cake to be precise.

About Sandhya, she’s one of the sweetest souls one can ever hope to meet in life. Once you have met her, you have no choice but to keep her for life. It has been almost 10 years now that we finished our MBA together and I do not recall a time when we haven’t been in touch. Even if there was a gap in our communication, it never felt so, because we could continue from where we left off last.

Here’s wishing you, Sandhya, my beautiful friend – A VERY HAPPY BIRTHDAY

Now to wish my all time favourite book character – Harry Potter ( and JKR). Happy Birthday… You rock my world.

This Carrot cake is to let you know how much I love you both. I wish for Harry Potter to come back but then I know it may not be the same again. I am excited about the new novel that JKR is writing which is meant for Adults. It would be interesting to see what sort of characters she has up her sleeve this time

And dear, dear, dear Sandhya, let us skype more often and I hope you buy a blackberry soon, so that we can bb each other all the time.

As for this carrot recipe, I found it while I was browsing through the internet for some easy to put together vegetable ( read zucchini, beetroot, carrot) cakes. I found this on the Joy of Baking website and I knew it was a winner right away because it used PINEAPPLES. Sometimes you know that special ingredient would be just the thing that makes a cake extra special. My favourite sort of special ingredients are cinnamon, cardamom, almond essence and the new addition to the list would be Pineapples. This cake asks for no butter and the sugar is something I always add lesser than what is asked for in the recipe. The sweetness from the pineapple shines through intensely from the carrot cake which is perfectly balanced by the nutty flavour of the olive oil.

Joy of Baking has never let me down and their recipes are spot on. This cake is very easy to put together – literally a child’s play. If your child is 3 or older, it could be a weekend baking project.

I hope this special birthday post acts as a good luck charm and helps break this no-blogging phase that I am going through. Until the next post which is about an ooey-gooey stunner of a chocolate cake – Another birthday special, I bid adieu!

All photos courtesy: Namit Bhatia

 

 

 

7 Responses to “A Birthday Wish for the Special People in my life (with some Carrot Cake)”

  1. Meenakshi July 30, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

    Sandhya and Potter are indeed lucky to have you in their lives! Your photographs are getting more gorgeous with each post. And this time’s recipe card is even nicer!! And hey- you need to enjoy some down time from the cyber world every once in a while. And I am with you on Joy Of Baking- her recipes never let you down and the videos are an added bonus!

  2. Cass @foodmyfriend July 31, 2012 at 8:37 am #

    You should have been telling us about all of the amazing things you have been doing ! 😛 hehe, hope you enjoyed your break… don’t go away soon 🙂

  3. yummychunklet August 1, 2012 at 2:50 am #

    What a delicious way to celebrate!

  4. girlinjammies August 1, 2012 at 5:25 am #

    Carrot cake is always yummy, it should never go wrong. I am sure all the love that you poured into it make it taste doubly yummy !

  5. marie August 2, 2012 at 5:14 pm #

    I love carrot cake, the more fruit and nuts the better. And good for you for taking time off, there’s a whole world out there. And I think the Olympics is throwing everyone off.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Carrot Cake | Culinary Experiments - March 9, 2013

    […] I baked this cake in August. The recipe has been taken from Anita’s blog. […]

  2. The catching up post + chocolate mousse recipe | - April 20, 2013

    […] Another feature about a Mother’s Day special in Bahrain Confidential. I shared my recipes of carrot cake  that is a tad bit special with the addition of pineapples and a healthy egg and veggies […]

Leave a comment