A healthy start to the New Year – Baked Eggs with Spinach, Mushrooms and Tomatoes

18 Jan

How is the New Year treating you guys? Mine doesn’t seem very different from the last year. It is just as hectic at work and I am yet to figure out how to strike a balance between my personal and professional life.

But I am a firm believer that when life hands you bitter lemons,  its wise make a pickle out of it. So I have tweaked my strategy a bit and instead of continuously cribbing about how my work life is eating into my personal time, I have decided to make the most of whatever time I do get outside of my work life. As a part of this strategy, I decided I would definitely try and do things /activities which I may have not done before. One of which is this blog has rarely seen healthy recipes written about and discussed. One primary change that I would try and usher in would be to showcase as many healthy recipes as possible. Since my battle with the bulge is legendary and all I do is use this space to crib about how all my diet and exercise strategies have been nothing but colossal flops. Also inspired by this, I would like to have a culinary bucket list for this year to sort out. I have plenty planned for my blog and I can’t wait to unveil it little by little.

So to mark the beginning of the New year, I have something that is not only delectable but is also very healthy. Its baked eggs with mushroom, spinach and tomatoes. I wanted to try baking in a mud vessel to see if there is any difference in the taste. But I was disappointed to observe that there was none at all. But mud vessels made great props for photography. Also, it  took ages to bake.

BE1

BE2

BE3

BE4

Hope you try this interesting way to baking eggs with vegetables. It is sumptuous to say the least.

Wishing everyone a beautiful year ahead with lots of happiness, health and prosperity.

20 Responses to “A healthy start to the New Year – Baked Eggs with Spinach, Mushrooms and Tomatoes”

  1. tanya1234 January 18, 2013 at 1:15 pm #

    luv it thankx

  2. sangeeta khanna January 18, 2013 at 1:42 pm #

    Loving the terracotta pot the most. It’s my kinda meal any day 🙂

  3. nikhilmerchant January 18, 2013 at 1:57 pm #

    Delish ! will defintely be trying this out one fine morning for brekkie !

  4. Sally January 19, 2013 at 12:07 pm #

    Thanks for the shout out. Good luck with your resolutions. Looking forward to more slices of your lyfe in 2013

  5. Priya Sreeram (@priyasreeram) January 19, 2013 at 6:10 pm #

    baked egg- love the sound of it and it does look smashin; wishing u an awesome 2013 anita 🙂

  6. marie January 20, 2013 at 12:39 am #

    Lately I too have been wanting to challenge myself in the kitchen. We’re leaving on a trip tomorrow but as soon as I get back I am making a list. And my new year is pretty similar to the old one too 🙂

  7. yummychunklet January 20, 2013 at 7:59 pm #

    What delicious looking eggs.

  8. Ameena January 20, 2013 at 8:31 pm #

    I am a huge egg fan but have never had them baked before. Love this!

    Hope you had the best weekend!

  9. atasteofmadess January 21, 2013 at 2:46 am #

    How I would love this for breakfast. What a perfect way to make eggs!

  10. Amy Tong January 21, 2013 at 10:50 pm #

    This is such a fun and healthy dish to make. 🙂 I love baked eggs and this is definitely one to try out soon. Yeah, it’s not always simple to find that balance between life and work. Take it easy and take care.

  11. Cass @foodmyfriend January 22, 2013 at 7:40 am #

    Happy New Year!! Love this recipe. Perfect breakfast for tomorrow morning!

  12. M D January 22, 2013 at 8:44 pm #

    I love that pot of yours! Envy! 🙂

    Beautifully presented Hope you have a great year ahead!

  13. Mina January 25, 2013 at 10:13 pm #

    looks absolutely delicious. Lovely photos and amazing post!

  14. Needful Things January 29, 2013 at 10:15 pm #

    I’ve only ever tried to bake eggs in a tomato and garlic paste but this seems far more delicious. I’d love to try this out! Happy to stumble across your blog.

  15. Kankana January 30, 2013 at 1:43 am #

    This has been our fav breakfast for lazy weekends! 🙂 Love it with some toast bread.

  16. maha February 1, 2013 at 6:38 pm #

    Wow very very tempting idea.nice cliks

  17. justagirlfromaamchimumbai February 5, 2013 at 4:36 am #

    Anita, love your blog and this post is smashing. I am allergic to Eggs but your post makes me wanna eat them 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The catching up post + chocolate mousse recipe | - April 20, 2013

    […] my recipes of carrot cake  that is a tad bit special with the addition of pineapples and a healthy egg and veggies breakfast. Both of these recipes have been featured in my blog many months […]

  2. The Breakfast Post – Poached eggs in baked beans | - October 26, 2013

    […] my archives and found what little love I have actually shown through my blog posts – very few breakfast recipes that showcase not even an ounce of what this meal of the day means to […]

Leave a comment